Robbery is a serious offense in Arkansas. Arkansas classifies robbery as a Class B felony, meaning you could face up to 20 years’ imprisonment. Aggravated robbery is an even more serious offense: You could receive a life sentence.
With that much at stake, you need a skilled criminal defense attorney to ensure that you are treated fairly under the law. Call our office today at (479) 225-2567 or contact a criminal defense attorney online to schedule an appointment about a potential criminal case.
In Arkansas, robbery is broadly defined. Robbery can be charged under Section 5-12-102 or 5-12-103 of the Arkansas Code. Both robbery and aggravated robbery are serious felony offenses under Arkansas Law.
In order to convict a person of robbery, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that with the purpose of committing a theft [or resisting apprehension immediately thereafter], defendant employed or threatened to immediately employ physical force upon another (Section 5-12-102).
Robbery is a Class B felony punishable by five to twenty years in prison and/or a fine of up to $15,000.
Aggravated robbery (or armed robbery) is a Class Y felony. You could receive a sentence of a minimum of 10 years and up to life in prison. The State of Arkansas can charge a defendant with aggravated robbery if the defendant commits a robbery as defined in Section 5-12-102, and the person:
- Is armed with a deadly weapon;
- Represents by word or conduct that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon; or
- Inflicts or attempts to inflict death or serious physical injury upon another person (Section 5-12-103).
Can I be sentenced under the First Offender Act if I’m Charged with Robbery?
If you have no prior felony convictions, Arkansas’s First Offender Act (Act 346) is a potential way to have the charges against you sealed once you have completed your sentence. Under the First Offender Act, if you are a first-time offender and 1) enter a plea of guilty or no contest and 2) successfully complete your probation, you may have your record sealed or expunged. It’s important to note that the judge or prosecutor may not allow you the privilege of being sentenced pursuant to the First Offender Act. You need a skilled lawyer to be able to persuade a prosecutor to recommend that you be sentenced under the First Offender Act.
The First Offender Act is not available for all offenses. Aggravated robbery is a violent felony and is ineligible for sentencing under ACT 346. Robbery, on the other hand, could potentially be eligible for sentencing under the First Offender ACT.
Are you facing a robbery charge? Call us now!
At the Dearmore Law Firm in Northwest Arkansas, our attorneys have earned a reputation for tenacious defense. If you have been accused of robbery, theft or another property crime, please call our Fayetteville office to discuss your case at (479) 225-2567. Your initial consultation will be free.