DWI as a Misdemeanor
If you are stopped with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or above in Arkansas or are found to be intoxicated, you will be arrested for DWI (For drivers younger than 21 years old, the limit is .02). If you are stopped with .08 BAC or higher and have not caused a traffic accident or injury to another AND it’s your first offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
In addition to completing a State-approved Alcohol Rehabilitation Program and attending a victim impact panel, the administrative and criminal penalties for a DWI conviction (First Offense) in Arkansas include:
- Fines ranging from One Hundred and Fifty Dollars ($150.00) to One Thousand Dollars ($1,000,00), and Imprisonment ranging from twenty-four (24) hours to one (1) year in county jail. The court may also order public service in lieu of a jail sentence. Your driver’s license may be suspended for six months.
Even if it’s your first offense, you need the help of a DWI attorney. When we take on your case, our office will obtain the police reports as quickly as possible in order to review the facts of your case. If the officer lacked probable cause initiate a traffic stop or if field sobriety tests or breath tests were given incorrectly, you may be able to win your case. We at Dearmore Law will make sure all possible defenses are explored.
Subsequent DWI offenses have more serious fines and penalties. Even if you represented yourself on your first DWI, you should strongly consider hiring a skilled DWI attorney for additional DWI/DUI charges within five years of your first offense.
For example, the arresting officer is required to follow several procedures when he or she stops you and, if he/she fails to follow the correct procedures, then it may be possible to win your case. It is important you contact an attorney immediately so that you fully understand what your rights are and to determine if your rights were violated when you were stopped. Call Dearmore Law Firm at (479) 255-2567 to discuss your case.
DWI as a Felony
While most drunk driving charges are filed as misdemeanors, certain reasons might cause a DUI/DWI to be filed as a felony. Receiving multiple DWI convictions means that the consequences become harsher with each additional conviction. Felony charges could include time in prison, harsher penalties and loss of driving privileges. If you are charged with a Felony DWI or DUI, you need to contact a criminal defense lawyer right away. The Dearmore Law Office, PLLC, is experienced in handling felony DWI charges. As with a misdemeanor DWI, there are defenses and resources available to you. Call today (479) 255-2567 for a free consultation and learn how we can help.
We at Dearmore Law Firm have extensive experience in challenging a DWI and assist clients in Northwest Arkansas as well as the rest of our state. Call our office today at (479) 255-2567 or contact us online to schedule an appointment.